forward to a friendview in browser

The Resource Hub
Exclusive News for Our Valued Members and Partners
June 3, 2015

Growing our Impact!

EducationPlus is pleased to announce the addition of our new satellite facility at 4433 Woodson Road! Located just south of Lambert International Airport, the site is over 6,000 square feet of meeting and office space with ample parking. There are two newly renovated suites that together have two large meeting rooms, a conference room, two collaboration areas, seven offices and a combined seating capacity of 187 people.

The EdPlus offices at 1460 Craig Road have become cramped and the meeting spaces are often booked to capacity. The continued increase of PLN meetings and all of our new professional development offerings necessitated the move. The RPDC programs will soon be moving to the new location and the accompanying staff who will be relocated include Director Julie Sperry and Coordinator of RPDC Programming Don Rugraff, as well as three of the RPDC Programs: special education; Jeanne Rothermel, Laurie Millburn and Tricia Buchanan; MELL consultants Marlow Barton and Debra Cole and the PBIS consultant team of Karen Westhoff and Marsha Hightower. Program Facilitator Jenae Davis will be joining the team as lead assistant. Meetings and professional development at the new location will begin on July 6th.

Congratulations to the CharacterPlus Members
Selected as National Schools of Character! has recognized 64 schools and three school districts as 2015 National Schools of Character. Missouri again leads the nation with 18 National Schools of Character. Fifteen of Missouri’s honored schools and one from Illinois are members of CharacterPlus®, a resource of EducationPlus®. More than 20% of all National Schools of Character in 2015 are members of CharacterPlus. CharacterPlus coordinates the State Schools of Character program in Missouri and is committed to building strong school communities where students feel valued and can succeed. This work is also sponsored by the St. Louis Rams, advocates of character and youth development. Congratulations to the following schools:

•  Antonia Middle School, Fox School District
•  Bayless High School, Bayless School District
•  Bayless Jr. High, Bayless School District
•  Christian Ott Elementary, Independence School District
•  Cold Water Elementary School, Hazelwood School District
•  Forder Elementary School, Mehlville School District
•  Fox Middle School, Fox School District
•  Grace Early Childhood Care Center & Education Center, Belton School District
•  Mill Creek Upper Elementary School, Belton School District
•  Oak Brook Elementary, Parkway School District
•  Oakville High School, Mehlville School District
•  Point Elementary School, Mehlville School District
•  Pond Elementary School, Rockwood School District
•  Rogers Elementary School, Mehlville School District
•  Selvidge Middle School, Rockwood School District
•  Southwest Early Childhood Center, Jefferson City School District
•  Union Elementary School, Belleville #118 School District
•  William Chrisman High School, Independence School District
•  Windsor High School, Windsor School District

EducationPlus Staff Recognition

Each year we honor and recognize EdPlus team members for their years of service and dedication to their jobs.

Service Awards went to:

Marlow Barton, 5 years
Rebecca Morrison, 10 years
Kelly Hackworth, 15 years
Sarah Golliday, 20 years
Mary Carr, 25 years

Retirees Rose Coleman (left) and Carolyn Neal (right) were recognized by colleagues for their years of dedication to public education, both through classroom instruction and professional development. In addition, Rose and Carolyn were nominated by their colleagues and selected to receive our "Plus of the Year" Award. Congrats and best of luck to these fine educators!

Gold Star Schools Announced by DESE

The Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education announced the
eight winners of this year’s Gold Star Schools. Established in 1991, the Gold Star Schools program aligns with the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Recipients of the state award were nominated for the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program, which recognizes public and private elementary, middle and high schools based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients, including six EducationPlus members:

•  Barbara Blanchard Elementary, Cape Girardeau 63 School District
•  Ralph M. Captain Elementary, School District of Clayton
•  Ladue Middle School, Ladue School District
•  Truman Middle School, Lindbergh Schools
•  New Haven High School, New Haven School District
•  McKelvey Elementary School, Parkway C-2 School District
•  West Middle School, Parkway C-2 School District
•  Kennard Classical Junior Academy, St. Louis Public Schools

The U.S. Department of Education will announce the Blue Ribbon Schools this fall.


Congrats Steve Bryant on your Retirement!

After 32 years in K-12 education, most recently serving as superintendent of the Union School District, Steve Bryant has announced his retirement.

Steve began his career as an Agriculture and FFA teacher in the West Plains School District. From there, Steve's work took him to the Salem School District and then to Union in 2010 as superintendent. Steve has always focused on one aspect of education in making his decisions... “what is best for kids.”

EducationPlus and the entire St. Louis area educational community wish Steve the best of luck in his retirement.


Support Staff Academy Mini-Conference
The annual Support Staff Academy Mini-Conference takes place next week on June 10 at Lindenwood University. This year's event promises to be filled with inspiration, new ideas and fantastic tips and tricks to help make you better at your job. Registration is open!

CharacterPlus National Conference

The CharacterPlus National Conference is a the St. Charles Convention Center on June 16-17 with pre-conference sessions on June 15. Registration is open and topics for sessions are available online. Contact Conference Director Megan Moncure for questions.


Generated by Learn more