View in browser Forward to a friend

School Board President: Thank You for Supporting JPS Schools

JPS Needs the Public's Input on Next Schools Leader
Dr. Jeanne Hairston
On behalf of the Jackson Public School District Board of Trustees, students, faculty, and staff, I would like to thank the Citizens of Jackson for voting to approve the $65 million bond referendum on August 7. Because of your support, we will soon be able to issue general obligation bonds to repair and upgrade aging schools and facilities across the District. As a result of the bond’s passage, every school will be positively impacted by the projects to take place at each of the District's 54 school sites. This investment will allow us to address infrastructure needs cited by the Mississippi Department of Education, make safety improvements at Newell Field, and create quality learning spaces such as science labs and libraries in all of the District's middle schools and high schools.

In addition to voters, we are also incredibly grateful to the Bond Committee Co-Chairs Dr. Fran Bridges, Brad Pigott, and Leroy Walker along with Campaign Manager Tyrone Hendrix, and Amber May. We appreciate the support of our state and municipal elected officials who attended and hosted Town Halls to engage all of Jackson in this important work. We recognize and appreciate the invaluable support of Congressman Bennie Thompson, Mayor Chokwe Lumumba, the Jackson City Council, the Jackson Council PTA/PTSA, and the Jackson Metropolitan Retired Education Personnel Association. We also want to express our deep appreciation to everyone who worked alongside the Bond Committee to inform and inspire friends and neighbors throughout this process. Our clergy and faith communities, the Metro Jackson business community, #OurJPS, Working Together Jackson and several nonprofit organizations across the city were instrumental in the passage of the bond. We also appreciate Interim Superintendent Dr. Freddrick Murray and his administration for providing leadership and the information required for voters to understand the urgency of the bond vote.

The Board currently is developing a process to identify the individuals who will participate on the Citizen Oversight Committee established to ensure transparency and accountability regarding the use of these funds entrusted to us by Jackson voters. We welcome Jackson citizens to remain engaged with the District throughout the school year. Your commitment to our schools is essential to prepare our students to succeed now and in the future. Let’s continue to build stronger schools together for all of our children.

Dr. Jeanne Middleton Hairston, Board President
Jackson Public Schools

JPS School Board

Dr. Jeanne Middleton Hairston, President Dr. Edward D. Sivak Jr., Vice President Ms. Barbara T. Hilliard, Secretary
Ms. Letitia S. Johnson, Member Ms. Andrea Jones-Davis, Member Dr. Robert Luckett, Member

JPS Superintendent

Dr. Freddrick Murray, Interim Superintendent

Jackson Public Schools | (601) 960-8700 | Contact Us

Image Preview Image Preview Image Preview

662 S. President Street, Jackson, MS 39201
To learn why you received this and how to remove yourself from the list, see Privacy Policy

Review / edit information about you | Unsubscribe

Generated by Learn more